2013 Super Bowl Guide & Party Ideas

Football! Football! Football! If that's what your typical Super Bowl Sunday looks like, you will want to make sure you have all the essential Super Bowl information!


If you are planning a 2013 Super Bowl party and need some facts to get the party planning process rolling, here's a cheat sheet to follow. This Super Bowl viewing guide is perfect for anyone who doesn't follow football closely but will be organizing a fun watch party.

The Teams: Baltimore Ravens vs. San Fransisco 49s

After the Baltimore Ravens defeated the New England Patriots, Super Bowl XLVII will be a match between the Ravens and the San Fransisco 49s - they defeated the Atlanta Falcons for the prized Super Bowl spot.

It'll be the first time the Baltimore has had a shot at the championship in 12 years, and San Fransisco's first chance in 18. Each of the teams is led by a Coach Harbaugh - the two coaches are brothers - and so Super Bowl XLVII has been given a number of fun nicknames to highlight the brotherly rivalry (The Har-Bowl, The Super-Baugh, The Harbaugh Bowl and The Brother Bowl to name a few.)

The Location: Mercedes-Benz Superdome

The 47th annual Super Bowl will take place on February 3, 2013 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome located in New Orleans. This is the tenth time that the iconic New Orleans stadium will host the Super Bowl, and the first time the two championship teams will meet there since the devastation of Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

The Schedule

Pregame Show: Before the Super Bowl kicks off Sunday, February 3rd, New Orleans has a big pre-game show planned for February 1st and you can catch it live on VH1 at 9PM EST/8PM CST. Past Super Bowl concerts have always featured big name headliners and we're betting 2013's concert will be no different!

Super Bowl 2013 National Anthem: Making her third appearance at the big game, Alicia Keys, will sing the National Anthem at Super Bowl XLVII.

Alicia's set to perform three songs, which is the most ever for a national anthem singer in the event's history.

Kick Off: Super Bowl XLVII kicks off at 6:30 PM ET on CBS. Don't be late!

Super Bowl 2013 Air Time

Super Bowl XLVII's Kick-Off show airs at 6 PM ET on CBS, followed by the official Coin Toss at 6:25 PM and the official kick off at 6:30 PM. In case you're not watching the game on the East Coast here's a list of the starting times across the country.

Central Standard Time (CT): airs at 5 PM
Mountain Standard Time (MT): airs at 4 PM
Pacific Standard Time (PT) airs at 3 PM
Alaskan Standard Time (AKT) airs at 2 PM
Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HT) airs at 1 PM

Super Bowl XLVII Half-time Show

This year, viewers will certainly not be disappointed! Beyoncé is set to take the stage as the primary performer for the 2013 Super Bowl half-time show.

There are rumors that her famous rapper husband Jay-Z, and even former band mates from Destiny’s Child Michelle Williams and Kelly Rowland, might be joining her on stage.

Super Bowl Fun Facts and Trivia

You know those Super Bowl commercials we look forward to every year? Well, this year they’re going at an extra high price!

CBS has announced that they will be charging a record high $4,000,000 for each thirty-second ad!

Some of Super Bowl XLVII’s most highly anticipated commercials include a Go Daddy commercial featuring supermodels Bar Refaeli and Danica Patrick, and one of five contest-generated Dorito’s ads. Check out one of our favorite commercial's from Dorito's above.

Can't wait for the big game? Start planning your Super Bowl Party and check out our Super Bowl Trivia article for even more trivia fun!

Find more party planning inspirations for Super Bowl Parties
RELATED CONTENT

Inspirations Delivered to Your Inbox

Sign up to receive our weekly newsletter and have party tips and ideas sent straight to your inbox! You'll be the first to know about our best recipes, decoration ideas, invitation inspirations and more.